Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nebula Awards

Annually recognizes the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States.
Nebula Award logo Nebula Awards


WINNER:  The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin


  • Bug Jack Barron by Norman Spinrad

  • Isle of the Dead by Roger Zelazny

  • The Jagged Orbit by John Brunner

  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

  • Up the Line by Robert Silverberg


WINNER:  Ringworld by Larry Niven


  • And Chaos Died by Joanna Rues

  • Fourth Mansions by R. A. Lafferty

  • The Steel Crocodile by David G. Compton

  • Tower of Glass by Robert Silverberg

  • The Year of the Quiet Sun by Wilson Tucker


WINNER:  A Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg


  • The Byworlder by Poul Anderson

  • The Devil is Dead by R. A. Lafftery

  • Half Past Human by T. J. Bass

  • The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin

  • Margaret and I by Kate Wilhelm


WINNER:  The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov


  • The Book of Skulls by Robert Silverberg

  • Dying Inside by Robert Silverberg

  • The Iron Dream by Norman Spinrad

  • The Sheep Look Up by John Brunner

  • What Entropy Means to Me by George Alec Effinger

  • When HARLIE Was One by David Gerrold


WINNER:  Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke


  • Gravity's Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

  • The Man Who Folded Himself by David Gerrold

  • The People of the Wind by Poul Anderson

  • Time Enough for Love by Robert A. Heinlein


WINNER:  The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin


  • 334 by Thomas M. Disch

  • Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said by Philip K. Dick

  • The Godwhale by T. J. Bass


WINNER:  The Forever War by Joe Haldeman


  • Autumn Angels by Arthur Byron Cover

  • The Birthgrave by Tanith Lee

  • The Computer Connection by Alfred Bester

  • Dhalgren by Samuel R. Delany

  • Doorways in the Sand by Roger Zelazny

  • The Embedding by Ian Watson

  • The Female Man by Joanna Russ

  • A Funeral for the Eyes of Fire by Michael Bishop

  • Guernica Night by Barry N. Malzberg

  • The Heritage of Hastur by Marion Zimmer Bradley

  • Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

  • A Midsummer Tempest by Poul Anderson

  • The Missing Man by Katherine MacLean

  • The Mote in God's Eye by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle

  • Ragtime by E. L. Doctorow

  • The Stochastic Man by Robert Silverberg


WINNER:  Man Plus by Frederik Pohl


  • Inferno by Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle

  • Islands by Marta Randall

  • Shadrach in the Furnace by Robert Silverberg

  • Triton by Samuel R. Delany

  • Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm


WINNER:  Gateway by Frederik Pohl


  • Cirque by Terry Carr

  • In the Ocean of Night by Gregory Benford

  • Moonstar Odyssey by David Gerrold

  • Sword of the Demon by Richard A. Lupoff



WINNER:  Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre


  • Blind Voices by Tom Reamy

  • The Faded Sun : Kesrith by C. J. Cherryh

  • Kalki by Gore Vidal

  • Strangers Gardner Dozois