Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

An annual American children's book award that recognizes historical fiction. It was established in 1982 by Scott O'Dell, author of Island of the Blue Dolphins and 25 other children's books. The hope was that this would help increase young readers' inter

Title Box

Scott O'Dell Award


Historical Fiction

Winners 2010-2019

Winners 2010-2019

If a title label is in blue we have access.  If in orange it has been ordered.  If black we do not own and are unable to order at this time (out of print, too expensive, etc.)

The Storm in the Barn by Matt Phelan

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

Chickadee by Louise Erdrich

Bo at Ballard Creek by Kirkpatrick Hill

Dash by Kirby Larson

The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schlitz

Full of Beans by Jennifer L. Holm

Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk

Finding Langston by Lesa Cline-Ransome