Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

An annual American children's book award that recognizes historical fiction. It was established in 1982 by Scott O'Dell, author of Island of the Blue Dolphins and 25 other children's books. The hope was that this would help increase young readers' inter

Title Box

Scott O'Dell Award


Historical Fiction

Winners 1984-1989

Winners 1984-1989

If a title label is in blue we have access.  If in orange it has been ordered.  If black we do not own and are unable to order at this time (out of print, too expensive, etc.)

The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare

The Fighting Ground by Avi

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan

Streams to the River, River to the Sea by Scott O'Dell

Charley Skedaddle by Patricia Beatty

The Honorable Prison by Lyll Becerra de Jenkins