Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

An annual American children's book award that recognizes historical fiction. It was established in 1982 by Scott O'Dell, author of Island of the Blue Dolphins and 25 other children's books. The hope was that this would help increase young readers' inter

Title Box

Scott O'Dell Award


Historical Fiction

Winners 1990-1999

Winners 1990-1999

If a title label is in blue we have access.  If in orange it has been ordered.  If black we do not own and are unable to order at this time (out of print, too expensive, etc.)

Shades of Gray by Carolyn Reeder

A Time of Troubles by Pieter Van Raven

Stepping on the Cracks by Mary Downing Hahn

Morning Girl by Michael Dorris

Bull Run by Paul Fleischman

Under the Blood Red Sun by Graham Salisbury

The Bomb by Theodore Taylo

Jip, His Story by Katherine Paterson

Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule by Harriette Robinet