Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Walter Scott Prize

Awarded for historical fiction, it is a British literary award founded in 2010. It is named for Sir Walter Scott, the scottish author who is generally considered the originator of historical fiction in the early 1800s. Eligible books must have been firs

Title Box

Walter Scott Prize
Winners & Shortlists


The Narrow Land by Christine Dwyer Hickey

  • The Parisian by Isabella Hammad

  • To Calais, In Ordinary Time by James Meek

  • Shadowplay by Joseph O'Connor

  • The Redeemed by Tim Pears

  • A Sin of Omission by Marguerite Poland


The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel

  • The Tolstoy Estate by Steven Conte

  • A Room Made of Leaves by Kate Grenville

  • Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell

  • The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams