Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agatha Awards

Agatha Awards

Best Nonfiction

1990s

Winner

The Doctor, the Murder, the Mystery by Barbara D'Amato

Finalists

  • Dorothy L. Sayers by Alzina Stone Dale

  • The Poisonous Pen of Agatha Christie by Michael C. Gerald

  • The Fine Art of Murder by Edward Gorman

  • A Reader's Guide to the American Novel of Detection by Marvin Lachman

  • The Doubleday Crime Club Compendium 1928-91 by Ellen A. Nehr

Winner

By a Woman's Hand by Jean Swanson and Dean James

Finalists

  • Encyclopedia Mysteriosa by William L. DeAndrea

  • Crime Fiction II by Allen J. Hubin

  • Great Women Mystery Writers by Kathleen Gregory Klein

  • Had She But Known : Mary Roberts Rinehart by Charlotte MacLeod

Winner

Mystery Readers Walking Guide - Chicago by Alzina Stone Dale

Finalists

  • John Dickson Carr : the Man Who Explained Miracles by Douglas G. Greene

  • Ngaio Marsh : the Woman and Her Work by B. J. Rahn

  • The Armchair Detective Book of Lists, 2nd ed. by Kate Stine

  • The Cadfael Companion, 2nd ed. by Robin Whteman

Winner

Detecting Men by Willeta L. Heising

Finalists

  • Amateur Detectives : a Writer's Guide to How Private Citizens Solve Criminal Cases by Elaine Raco Chase and Anne Wingate

  • Mystery : a Celebration by Ron Miller

  • The Letters of Dorothy L. Sayers : the Making of a Detective Novelist by Barbara Reynolds

  • By a Woman's Hand, 2nd ed. by Jean Swanson and Dean James

Winner

Detecting Men by Willeta L. Heising

Finalists

  • Crimes of the Scene by Nina King and Robin Winks

  • Guilty Parties by Ian Ousby

Winner

Mystery Reader's Walking Guide to Washington D. C. by Alzina Stone Dale

Finalists

  • Speaking of Murder by Edward Gorman and Martin H. Greenberg

  • Deadly Women by Jan Grape, Dean James and Ellen Nehr

  • Silk Stalkings II by Victoria Nichols and Susan Thompson

  • Killer Booksi by Jean Swanson and Dean James

Winner

Teller of Tales : the Life of Arthur Conan Doyle by Daniel Stashower

Finalists

  • The Deadly Directory by Kate Derie

  • A Taste of Murder : Diabolically Delicious Recipes from Contemporary Mystery Writers by Jo Grossman and Robert Weibezahl

  • Detecting Women III by Willetta L. Heising

  • The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing by Rosemary Herbert

2000s

Winner

100 Favorite Mysteries of the Century by Jim Huang

Finalists

  • The American Regional Mystery by Marvin Lachman

  • The Complete Christie by Matthew Bunson

  • They Wrote the Book edited by Helen Windrath

  • Women of Mystery edited by Martha Dubose

Winner

Seldom Disappointed : a Memoir by Tony Hillerman

Finalists

  • The History of the Mystery by Max Allan Collins

  • Writing the Mystery : a Start-To-Finish Guide for Both Novice and Professional by G. Miki Hayden

  • Who Was That Lady? by Jeffrey Marks

  • Food, Drink and the Female Sleuth by The Sisters Wells

Winner

They Died in Vain : Overlooked, Underappreciated, and Forgotten Mystery Novels edited by Jim Huang

Finalists

  • The Mammoth Encyclopedia of Modern Crime Fiction edited by Mike Ashley

  • Mystery Women : an Encyclopedia of Leading Women Characters in Mystery Fiction by Colleen Barnett

  • Kitchen Privileges : a Memoir by Mary Higgins Clark

  • Writing Mysteries : a Handbook by the Mystery Writers of America edited by Sue Grafton with Jan Burke and Barry Zeman

Winner

Amelia Peabody's Egypt : a Compendium by Elizabeth Peters and Kristen Whitbread

Finalists

  • Mystery Women : an Encyclopedia of Leading Women Characters in Mystery Fiction, Volume 3 (Parts 1 & 2) by Colleen A. Barnett

  • A Second Helping of Murder : More Diabolically Delicious Recipes from Contemporary Mystery Writers edited by Jo Grossman and Robert Weibezah

  • Atomic Renaissance : Women Mystery Writers of the 1940s and 1950s by Jeffrey Marks

Winner

Private Eyelashes : Radio's Lady Detectives by Jack French

Finalists

  • The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes : the Complete Short Stories edited by Leslie Klinger

Winner

Girl Sleuth : Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her by Melanie Rehak

Finalists

  • Behind the Mystery -- Top Mystery Writers by Stuart Kaminsky

  • The Heirs of Anthony Boucher by Marvin Lachman

  • The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes by Leslie S. Klinger

Winner

Don't Murder Your Mystery by Chris Roerden

Finalists

  • Mystery Muses by Jim Huang and Austin Lugar

  • The Beautiful Cigar Girl by Daniel Stashower

Winner

Arthur Conan Doyle : a Life in Letters by Jon Lellenberg, Daniel Stashower and Charles Foley

Finalists

  • The Official Nancy Drew Handbook by Penny Warner

Winner

How to Write Killer Historical Mysteries by Kathy Lynn Emerson

Finalists

  • African American Mystery Writers : a Historical & Thematic Study by Frankie Y. Bailey

  • Anthony Boucher : a Biobibliography by Jeffrey Marks

  • Edgar Allan Poe : an Illustrated Companion to His Tell-Tale Stories by Harry Lee Poe

  • The Suspicions of Mr. Whitcher, or The Murder at Road Hill House by Kate Summerscale

Winner

Dame Agatha's Shorts by Elena Santangelo

Finalists

  • Duchess of Death by Richard Hack

  • Talking About Detective Fiction by P. D. James

  • Blood on the Stage 1925-1950 by Amnon Kabatchnik

  • The Talented Miss Highsmith by Joan Schenkar

2010s

Winner

Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks : 50 Years of Mysteries in the Making by John Curran

Finalists

  • The Poisoner's Handbook : Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz by Deborah Blum

  • Sherlock Holmes for Dummies by Stephen Doyle & David A. Crowder

  • Have Faith in Your Kitchen by Katherine Hall Page

  • Charlie Chan : the Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and His Rendezvous with American History by Yunte Huang

Winner

Books, Crooks and Counselors : How to Write Accurately About Criminal Law and Courtroom Procedure by Leslie Budewitz

Finalists

  • Agatha Christie : Murder in the Making : More Stories and Secrets from Her Notebooks by John Curran

  • On Conan Doyle; or, The Whole Art of Storytelling by Michael Dirda

  • Wilkie Collins, Vera Caspary and the Evolution of the Casebook Novel by A. B. Emrys

  • The Sookie Stackhouse Companion by Charlaine Harris

Winner

Books to Die For : the World's Greatest Mystery Writers on the World's Greatest Mystery Novels by John Connolly

Finalists

  • Blood Relations : the Selected Letters of Ellery Queen, 1947-1950 by Joseph Goodrich

  • More Forensics and Fiction : Crime Writers Morbidly Curious Questions Expertly Answered by D. P. Lyle More

  • Double Cross : the True Story of the D-Day Spies by Ben Macintyre

  • The Grand Tour : Around the World with the Queen of Mystery Agatha Christie by Mathew Prichard

Winner

The Hour of Peril : the Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower

Finalists

  • Georgette Heyer by Jennifer Kloester

  • Mastermind : How to Think Like Sherlock Holmes by Maria Konnikova

  • Not Everyone's Cup of Tea : an Interesting & Entertaining History of Malice Domestic's First 25 Years by Verena Rose and Rita Owen

Winner

Writes of Passage : Adventures on the Writer's Journey by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Finalists

  • The Poisoner : the Life and Crimes of Victorian England's Most Notorious Doctor by Stephen Bates

  • Death Dealer : How Cops and Cadaver Dogs Brought a Killer to Justice by Kate Flora

  • 400 Things Cops Know : Street Smart Lessons from a Veteran Patrolman by Adam Plantinga

  • The Art of the English Murder by Lucy Worsley

Winner

The Golden Age of Murder : the Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story by Martin Edwards

Finalists

  • The Great Detective : the Amazing Rise and Immortal Life of Sherlock Holmes by Zack Dundas

  • A is for Arsenic : the Poisons of Agatha Christie

  • Unsolved Murders and Disappearances in Northeast Ohio by Jane Ann Turzillo

  • The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook : Wickedly Good Meals and Desserts to Die For edited by Kate White ; Mystery Writers of America

Winner

Mastering Suspense, Structure, and Plot : How to Write Gripping Stories that Keep Readers on the Edge of Their Seats by Jane K. Cleland

Finalists

  • A Good Man with a Dog : a Game Warden's 25 Years in the Maine Woods by Roger Guay with Kate Clark Flora

  • Sara Paretsky : a Companion to the Mystery Fiction by Margaret Kinsman

Winner

From Holmes to Sherlock : the Story of the Men and Women Who Created an Icon by Mattias Bostrom

Finalists

  • The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books by Martin Edwards

  • American Fire : Love, Arson and Life in a Vanishing Land by Monica Hesse

  • Through the Healing Power of Fiction by Jess Lourey

  • Manderley Forever : a Biography of Daphne du Maurier by Tatiana de Rosnay

Winner

Mastering Plot Twists by Jane Cleland

Finalists

  • Writing the Cozy Mystery by Nancy J. Cohen

  • Conan Doyle for the Defense by Margalit Fox

  • Agatha Christie : a Mysterious Life by Laura Thompson

  • Wicked Women of Ohio by Jane Ann Turzillo

Winner

The Mutual Admiration Society : How Dorothy L. Sayers and her Oxford Circle Remade the World for Women by Mo Moulton

Finalists

  • Frederic Dannay, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and the Art of the Detective Short Story by Laird R. Blackwell

  • Blonde Rattlesnake: Burmah Adams, Tom White, and the 1933 Crime Spree that Terrified Los Angeles by Julia Bricklin

  • Furious Hours : Murder, Fraud and the Last Trial of Harper Lee by Casey Cep

  • The Five : The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper by Hallie Rubenhold

Frederic Dannay, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and the Art of the Detective Short Story
Blonde Rattlesnake
Furious Hours
The Five

2020s

WINNER

Phantom Lady : Hollywood Producer Joan Harrison, the Forgotten Woman Behind Hitchcock by Christina Lane

FINALISTS

  • Sometimes You Have to Lie : the Life and Times of Louise Fitzhugh, Renegade Aughor of Harriet the Spy by Leslie Brody

  • American Sherlock : Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI by Kate Winkler Dawson

  • Howdunit : a Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club by Martin Edwards

  • H. R. F. Keating : a Life of Crime by Sheila Mitchell