Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Book Awards

Not to be confused with the National Book Awards, the ABA is an American literary award that annually recognizes a set of books and people for "outstanding literary achievement." It is a writer's award given by other writers and there are no categories,

American Book Awards


  • Reginald Dwayne Betts, Felon: Poems
  • Sara Borjas, Heart Like a Window, Mouth Like a Cliff
  • Neeli Cherkovski, Raymond Foye, Tate Swindell, editors, Collected Poems of Bob Kaufman
  • Staceyann Chin, Crossfire: A Litany for Survival
  • Kali Fajardo-Anstine, Sabrina & Corina: Stories
  • Tara Fickle, The Race Card: From Gaming Technologies to Model Minorities
  • Erika Lee, America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States
  • Yoko Ogawa, The Memory Police
  • Jake Skeets, Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers
  • George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott, and Harmony Becker, They Called Us Enemy
  • Ocean Vuong, On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
  • De'Shawn Charles Winslow, In West Mills
  • Albert Woodfox with Leslie George, Solitary: My Story of Transformation and Hope

  • Ayad Akhtar, Homeland Elegies
  • Ben Ehrenreich, Desert Notebooks
  • William Melvin Kelley, Dunfords Travels Everywheres
  • Johanna Fernández, The Youth Lords : a Radical History
  • Cathy Park Hong, Minor Feelings : an Asian American Reckoning
  • Robert P. Johnes, White Too Long : the Legacy of White Supremacy in American Christianity
  • Carolyn Forché, In the Lateness of the World