Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Book Awards

Not to be confused with the National Book Awards, the ABA is an American literary award that annually recognizes a set of books and people for "outstanding literary achievement." It is a writer's award given by other writers and there are no categories,

American Book Awards


  • Douglas Woolf for Future preconditional: A collection
  • Edward Dorn for Hello, La Jolla
  • Jayne Cortez for Mouth on Paper
  • Leslie Marmon Silko for Ceremony
  • Mei-mei Berssenbrugge for Random Possession
  • Milton Murayama for All I Asking for Is My Body
  • Quincy Troupe for Snake Back Solos
  • Rudolfo Anaya for Tortuga, a novel
  • Alta for Shameless Hussy
  • Alan Chong Lau for Songs for Jadina
  • Bienvenido N. Santos for Scent of Apples: A Collection of Stories
  • Helen Adam for Turn Again to Me & Other Poems
  • Lionel Mitchell for Traveling Light
  • Miguel Algarín for On Call
  • Nicholasa Mohr for Felita
  • Peter Blue Cloud for Back Then Tomorrow
  • Robert Kelly for The Time of Voice: Poems 1994–1996
  • Rose Drachler for The Choice
  • Susan Howe for The Liberties
  • Toni Cade Bambara for The Salt Eaters
  • Al Young for Bodies and Soul
  • Duane Niatum for Songs for the Harvester of Dreams: Poems
  • E. L. Mayo for Collected Poems E L Mayo
  • Frank Chin for The Chickencoop Chinaman and The Year of the Dragon
  • Hilton Obenzinger for This Passover or the next, I will never be in Jerusalem
  • Him Mark Lai, Genny Lim, Judy Yung for Island: Poetry and History of Chinese Immigrants on Angel Island, 1910–1940
  • Jerome Rothenberg for Pre-Faces and Other Writings
  • Joyce Carol Thomas for Marked by Fire
  • Leroy Quintana for Paper Dance: 55 Latino Poets
  • Lorna Dee Cervantes for Emplumada
  • Ronald Phillip Tanaka for The Shino Suite: Japanese-American Poetry
  • Russell Banks for Book of Jamaica
  • Tato Laviera for Enclave
  • Barbara Christian for Black Women Novelists: The Development of a Tradition, 1892–1976
  • Cecilia Liang for Chinese Folk Poetry
  • Evangelina Vigil-Piñón for Thirty: An' Seen a Lot
  • Harriet Rohmer for Legend of Food Mountain: LA Montana Del Alimento
  • James D. Houston for Californians: Searching for the Golden State
  • Jessica Tarahata Hagedorn for Pet food & tropical apparitions
  • John A. Williams for Click Song, a novel
  • Joy Kogawa for Obasan
  • Judy Grahn for The Queen of Wands: Poetry
  • Nash Candelaria for Not by the Sword
  • Peter Guralnick for Lost Highway: Journeys and Arrivals of American Musicians
  • Seán Ó Tuama for An Duanaire Sixteen Hundred to Nineteen Hundred: Poems of the Dispossessed
  • Cecil Brown for Days Without Weather
  • Gary Snyder for Axe Handles: Poems
  • Howard Schwartz, Mark Podwal for The Captive Soul of the Messiah: New Tales About Reb Nachman
  • Imamu Amiri Baraka for Anthology of African American Women: Confirmation Men
  • Jesús Colón for A Puerto Rican in New York, and Other Sketches
  • Joseph Bruchac for Breaking Silence: An Anthology of Contemporary Asian-American Poets
  • Maurice Kenny for The Mama Poems
  • Mei-mei Berssenbrugge for The heat bird
  • Miné Okubo for Citizen 13660
  • Paule Marshall for Praisesong for the Widow
  • Ruthanne Lum McCunn, You-shan Tang, Ellen Lai-shan Yeung for Pie-Biter
  • Thomas McGrath for Echoes inside the labyrinth
  • Venkatesh Kulkarni for Naked in Deccan
  • William J. Kennedy for O Albany!