Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Booker Prize for Fiction

Literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom.


The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens

Troubles by J. G. Farrell  (Retrospective award)


Shortlist (The Lost Man Booker Prize)

The Lost Man Booker Prize was a special edition of the Man Booker Prize awarded by a public vote in 2010 to a novel from 1970 as the books published in 1970 were not eligible for the Man Booker Prize due to a rules alteration; until 1970 the prize was award to books published in the previous year, while from 1971 onwards it was awarded to books published the same year as the award.  The winner is designated in the Winner box as a retrospective award.  This box contains only the shortlist.