Hi-Plains Genealogical Society Collection: Home

Break through brick walls in your genealogical research

Learn how to use innovative methods to unearth hard-to-find ancestors. Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques shows you, step by step, how to uncover elusive details by taking advantage of specialized tools and software programs and using proven best practices for breaking through the brick walls that have hindered your progress. You'll get professional advice on formulating a research strategy, understanding the details you discover, keeping careful track of your data, analyzing the evidence, and developing hypotheses. Real-world case studies demonstrate how you can apply the systematic procedures presented in this practical guide to your research—and achieve success!

Know what resources are available! Sometimes the toughest part about overcoming a research barrier is knowing what resources are available, where to go, or whom to ask for help. The Ancestry Family Historian's Address Book is your instant link to thousands of genealogy-related organizations and resources across the US! Published in 1997, The Address Book is organized by state. It includes such organizations as National Genealogy Societies, State Genealogy and Historical Societies' Archives, Libraries, Museums, Ethnic and Ecclesiastical Resources & Web Sites, Military and Federal Government Agencies, National Archives, Family History Centers, and more! This research tool will become your first reference point for many future research contacts! Give it a special place on your reference shelf!

Is your research time wasted looking up words like “beamster," “grimgribber," “anascara," and “wainbote" in regular dictionaries? Ever heard of a “gossip's wheel" or a “shank's mare"? These and other unusual terms are defined in Ancestry's Concise Genealogical Dictionary. You will find this book a useful and entertaining reference. The authors spent years collecting, researching, and verifying definitions of terms they discovered while researching cemetery, probate, court, medical, and other records. The mystery of terms and abbreviations that many researchers face has been solved with this essential, quick-reference source geared to the needs of the genealogist. Now you can have at your fingertips accurate and easy-to-find definitions for troublesome or unfamiliar words encountered in the research process. With thousands of concise definitions, all arranged alphabetically, this dictionary is essential for any genealogist's home, office, or briefcase.

Embarking on a quest to uncover your ancestry? Finding Your Family Tree is the perfect genealogy guide to have at your side, with special research techniques for underrepresented groups. Genealogy offers you the opportunity to understand who you are through your family history. With this knowledge, you can embrace your identity, understand your own health and wellness, reconnect with your roots and family origins, and find an overall sense of wholeness. Finding Your Family Tree: A Beginner's Guide to Researching Your Family Tree is an ideal starting point for your own journey of self-discovery. You are eager to learn your ancestry, but in these disconnected times, it can be hard to figure out on your own. With author and expert genealogist Sharon L Morgan as your guide, you can explore even the thorniest family tree. Sharon shows you how to embrace the world of genealogical research and provides guidance for underrepresented groups, such as African Americans and Native Americans, and anyone else who is interested in connecting with their family background.

This book examines how genealogical knowledge was produced in Early Modern Europe. It studies the procedures and difficulties of genealogical research and highlights the many challenges that had to be overcome in the process of establishing family histories. Archives had to be visited, stone inscriptions had to be deciphered, and countless individuals had to be identified. The papers demonstrate that none of these tasks were simple and that the results of the research efforts often remained ambivalent. How early modern genealogists went about studying these questions is investigated here in a comparative perspective that includes cases from Germany, Italy, France, Wales, and beyond.

Genealogical evidence is the information that allows us to identify an individual, an event in his or her life, or the relationship between individuals. In such a process, we often hear or use words such as evidence, proof, or documentation. Brenda Dougall Merriman takes readers through the genealogical process of research and identification, along the way examining how the genealogical community has developed standards of evidence and documentation, what those standards are, and how they can be applied. As a supplement to courses, workshops, and seminars, this book provides both an in-depth and inexpensive reference, perfect for compiling and checking research notes.

Genealogy is a passion. Do you have a passion that you just can't live without? Genealogy can be very additive, so if you don't think you will mind turning your house into a library, staying up all hours of the night doing a genealogy search for that illusive Uncle Ben, running our hubby or wife all over the country searching for dead relatives, and living with the dead more than the living, you are reading the right book to start your family genealogy research right now. Your genealogy family tree is going to be growing roots and sprouting branches all over the world as soon as you start the research into your ancestry. Your family tree and family history will all be found in all the genealogy records you will be digging up as soon as you, the beginner genealogist, learn how to collect, bag, and examine all the family history and family history genealogy for your family tree. You are going to learn how to use The Family Tree Maker Software and research the family tree using Ancestry, the ultimate resource for genealogy, and many genealogical online sites to gather all your family history. The genealogical lessons are clear and easy to understand and even your children can start learning their family history and genealogy. Look for the following guide to the genealogy lessons in this book, Genealogy Genealogy Research For Beginners Introduction To Genealogical Records And Techniques Lessons 1-7: Lesson 1 Beginners Genealogy Where To Start First -- Lesson 2 Beginners Genealogy Geography Migration And History -- Lesson 3 Beginners Genealogy Census And Spelling Of Names -- Lesson 4 Beginners Genealogy Major Record Sources -- Lesson 5 Beginners Genealogy Using Ancestry And Family Search Online -- Lesson 6 Beginners Genealogy Using Military Records -- Lesson 7 Beginners Genealogy Family Tree Software -- Links To My Favorite Online Sites

This is a practical—and encouraging—how-to book from a long-time teacher of personal and family history writing. Katie Funk Wiebe helps beginning memoir writers get started collecting the stories of their lives. She gives hints for recalling distant memories and tracking down family heirlooms. This is a serious but accessible resource for undertaking your personal or family history writing. In these pages, you'll find Tips on writing, Exercises to prod the memory, And advice on looking at the broad scope of a well-lived life. As Wiebe writes, "You've been living 24 hours every day, making decisions, objecting to certain ideas, endorsing others, and interacting with family and coworkers," the author writes. "I plan to convince you that if you took time to reflect, you'd find lots of meaningful stuff going on."

Filled with practical advice that will help anyone obtain the information they seek through Italian records, Italian Genealogical Records is a comprehensive guide to the complexities and nuances of what could otherwise be a daunting task. In this book, the author discusses the history and development of Italian record keeping, providing reproductions of typical records and a complete translation and thorough explanation of each. Among the many other topics covered in this book are the significance of Italian surnames and the relevance of Italian noble families in the search for Italian ancestors.

The book's main character is a little girl named Jean, who is fascinated with the subject of family origins. She has many friends who know where their family originally came from, but she herself, being of African American heritage, doesn't know where her family originally came from. She and her mother begin their quest to find out which country their family originated from. Together and involving other relatives they begin their search. The book is a guide for others in finding their family origins

Many people want to write a family history, but few ever take on the job of publishing one. If you've done the research, and you want to make a book from it, then Publish Your Family History is for you. It will tell you all the fundamentals of book production, together with the important details that distinguish a home-published book from a homemade one. You'll learn: how to get your manuscript ready for production; design ideas for the pages and the cover; methods of making pages with or without a computer and printing those pages quickly and inexpensively; and ideas on bindings that last and look great. Even if time is at a premium, you're not comfortable with computer technology, or the budget is tight, you'll learn how to publish a professional-looking family history of your own!

One of the greatest frustrations for generations of genealogical researchers has been that reliable guidance on sources for perhaps the most critical period in the establishment of their family's links with Ulster, the period up to 1800, has proved to be so elusive. Not anymore. This book can claim to be the first comprehensive guide for family historians searching for ancestors in seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Ulster. Whether their ancestors are of English, Scottish, or Gaelic Irish origin, it will be of enormous value to anyone wishing to conduct research in Ulster prior to 1800. A comprehensive range of sources from the period 1600-1800 are identified and explained in very clear terms. Information on the whereabouts of these records and how they may be accessed is also provided. Equally important, there is guidance on how effectively they might be used. The appendices to the book include a full listing of pre-1800 church records for Ulster; a detailed description of nearly 250 collections of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century estate papers; and a summary breakdown of the sources available from this period for each parish in Ulster.

A one-stop guide for people seeking information about their ancestors in Ireland. This book will help all those, no matter where they live, who are searching for ancestors in Ireland. David R. Elliott has taken eight research trips to Ireland on behalf of his clients and has worked in most archival repositories in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Dr. Elliott gives clues to finding your ancestral county, then the parish and town-land within the county. He explains how Irish archival centers work and describes how you can flesh out your ancestors lives and what you might find in cemeteries. An experienced genealogist and seasoned traveler, Dr. Elliott gives practical advice on preparing for your trip with tips on travel, driving, accommodation, and meals. Ireland's unique history is outlined, as well as the impact that religion and politics have had on genealogical research. An annotated bibliography and a review of important websites round out this illustrated guide.

This work evolved out of a love for my ancestors, one being John Whitelaw, the Covenanter Monkland Martyr, who was executed for his religious beliefs in Edinburgh, 1683. While searching for his records I came across reference to thousands of other Scottish Covenanters. This Index lists those Covenanters found in some books written about the period between 1630 and 1712.There are many, many more Covenanters, whose names need to be added to this work, and, God willing, I will do it. The Covenanters were steadfast in their Presbyterian beliefs and refused to take an oath unto the King stating that he was the head of the church. They believed that Christ was the Head of the Church and their loyalty to this belief allowed them to lay their lives down for it. The Royalists and Dragoons, who were seeking to bring them into obedience to the King, relentlessly chased the Covenanters from glen to glen. This disregard for their civil rights was brutally carried out basically in the Lowlands of Scotland. Many of their records were destroyed along with their lives and their stories only live in family lore and books that were written about them. I have extracted some of their names and created The Scottish Covenanter Genealogical Index, which is by no means complete, but is a work in progress.

Also found in Reference 976.4842 C877h

Also found in the Reference Collection

Also found at:
G-TX Hale Marriage Records
and
Reference Collection

A bibliography of Hale County materials was published in 1987. This annotated list over one hundred books was complied from books housed in the Unger Memorial Library's genealogy collection, the Llano Estacado Museum (at Wayland Baptist University), the Mabee Learning Center (formerly the Van Howeling Memorial Library at Wayland Baptist University), as well as from holdings in private collections.

This work evolved out of a love for my ancestors, one being John Whitelaw, the Covenanter Monkland Martyr, who was executed for his religious beliefs in Edinburgh, 1683. While searching for his records I came across reference to thousands of other Scottish Covenanters. This Index lists those Covenanters found in some books written about the period between 1630 and 1712.There are many, many more Covenanters, whose names need to be added to this work, and, God willing, I will do it. The Covenanters were steadfast in their Presbyterian beliefs and refused to take an oath unto the King stating that he was the head of the church. They believed that Christ was the Head of the Church and their loyalty to this belief allowed them to lay their lives down for it. The Royalists and Dragoons, who were seeking to bring them into obedience to the King, relentlessly chased the Covenanters from glen to glen. This disregard for their civil rights was brutally carried out basically in the Lowlands of Scotland. Many of their records were destroyed along with their lives and their stories only live in family lore and books that were written about them. I have extracted some of their names and created The Scottish Covenanter Genealogical Index, which is by no means complete, but is a work in progress.

A one-stop guide for people seeking information about their ancestors in Ireland. This book will help all those, no matter where they live, who are searching for ancestors in Ireland. David R. Elliott has taken eight research trips to Ireland on behalf of his clients and has worked in most archival repositories in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Dr. Elliott gives clues to finding your ancestral county, then the parish and town-land within the county. He explains how Irish archival centers work and describes how you can flesh out your ancestors lives and what you might find in cemeteries. An experienced genealogist and seasoned traveler, Dr. Elliott gives practical advice on preparing for your trip with tips on travel, driving, accommodation, and meals. Ireland's unique history is outlined, as well as the impact that religion and politics have had on genealogical research. An annotated bibliography and a review of important websites round out this illustrated guide.

Filled with practical advice that will help anyone obtain the information they seek through Italian records, Italian Genealogical Records is a comprehensive guide to the complexities and nuances of what could otherwise be a daunting task. In this book, the author discusses the history and development of Italian record keeping, providing reproductions of typical records and a complete translation and thorough explanation of each. Among the many other topics covered in this book are the significance of Italian surnames and the relevance of Italian noble families in the search for Italian ancestors.

One of the greatest frustrations for generations of genealogical researchers has been that reliable guidance on sources for perhaps the most critical period in the establishment of their family's links with Ulster, the period up to 1800, has proved to be so elusive. Not anymore. This book can claim to be the first comprehensive guide for family historians searching for ancestors in seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Ulster. Whether their ancestors are of English, Scottish, or Gaelic Irish origin, it will be of enormous value to anyone wishing to conduct research in Ulster prior to 1800. A comprehensive range of sources from the period 1600-1800 are identified and explained in very clear terms. Information on the whereabouts of these records and how they may be accessed is also provided. Equally important, there is guidance on how effectively they might be used. The appendices to the book include a full listing of pre-1800 church records for Ulster; a detailed description of nearly 250 collections of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century estate papers; and a summary breakdown of the sources available from this period for each parish in Ulster.

This work evolved out of a love for my ancestors, one being John Whitelaw, the Covenanter Monkland Martyr, who was executed for his religious beliefs in Edinburgh, 1683. While searching for his records I came across reference to thousands of other Scottish Covenanters. This Index lists those Covenanters found in some books written about the period between 1630 and 1712.There are many, many more Covenanters, whose names need to be added to this work, and, God willing, I will do it. The Covenanters were steadfast in their Presbyterian beliefs and refused to take an oath unto the King stating that he was the head of the church. They believed that Christ was the Head of the Church and their loyalty to this belief allowed them to lay their lives down for it. The Royalists and Dragoons, who were seeking to bring them into obedience to the King, relentlessly chased the Covenanters from glen to glen. This disregard for their civil rights was brutally carried out basically in the Lowlands of Scotland. Many of their records were destroyed along with their lives and their stories only live in family lore and books that were written about them. I have extracted some of their names and created The Scottish Covenanter Genealogical Index, which is by no means complete, but is a work in progress.