LibGuides: Christy Awards: Short Form (2017-)

The Christy Awards

Short Form (2017- )

2020-2029

WINNER: A Christmas Haven by Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall

A Christmas Haven : an Amish Christmas romance by Woodsmall, Cindy ; Erin Woodsmall
Call Number: FIC WOODS CIN CH (Adult fiction)

ISBN: 9780525653295

Publication Date: 2019-09-24

For fans of holiday romances and Amish life comes a new Christmas tale of surprising expectations and discovering miracles. Old Order Amish Ivy Zook is wrestling with her need to shed her community's ways so she can grow the business of her dreams: planning parties. As long as she's stuck living without modernization, she can barely get her business on its feet. But if she leaves too soon, she'd cause trouble for her sister, Holly, who is planning her wedding to Joshua Smucker. All of their plans become twice as complicated when an old car crashes into the storefront of Greene's Pharmacy, carrying a Swartzentruber (ultra-conservative sect) Amish man, Arlan, and his very ill sister.

FINALISTS:

A Hood of Love by Tracie Peterson
Intrigue a la Mode by Regina Jennings

WINNER: "Joy to the World : Far as the Curse is Found" by Amanda Barratt

Joy to the World : a regency Christmas collection by Carolyn Miller; Amanda Barratt; Erica Vetsch
Call Number: ANT JOY WOR M

ISBN: 9780825446696

Publication Date: 2020-10-13

Three popular authors come together to offer a heartwarming collection of holiday Regency romance. Based on lines from a beloved Christmas carol, these three novellas in one book have depth, faith, and satisfying stories all packed into the perfect length for readers to curl up and take a brief break from their holiday busyness. "Heaven and Nature Sing" by Carolyn Miller: Two music lovers, deeply devoted to each other, were on the brink of engagement when family circumstances drove them apart. How can they ever overcome their obligations and fears to find their way back into each other's arms? "Far as the Curse is Found" by Amanda Barratt: One winter night, a woman struggling to provide for her illegitimate child encounters a scarred veteran of the Napoleonic Wars on the streets of London. Can love conquer the darkness of two broken pasts? "The Wonders of His Love" by Erica Vetsch: A Scots portrait painter with a hidden identity finds work at a noble manor house over the holidays. He never imagined he'd fall in love with the emotionally frozen widow there. Now he wants nothing more than to thaw her heart.

FINALISTS:

A Match Made at Christmas by Courtney Walsh
Joy to the World : Wonders of His Love by Erica Vetsch

A Match Made at Christmas : a Nantucket love story by Courtney Walsh
Call Number: FIC WALSH COU MA (Adult fiction)

ISBN: 9788697320600

Publication Date: 2020

Hayes McGuire never believed the stories about the famous Nantucket matchmaker, Noni Rose, until he?s roped into filling in while Noni leaves the island for Christmas. So he enlists the help of the one person he can trust with this crazy scheme, his best friend, Prudence. Armed with a series of rules, a book of success stories and the promise of Christmas magic, the pair of old friends sets out to make a Christmas match that would make Noni Rose proud. Little do they know that magic doesn't discriminate, and the pair soon finds their years of friendship deepening into something more. Will Pru and Hayes ignore the electricity in the air between them or will there be more than one match made at Christmas?

Joy to the World : a regency Christmas collection by Carolyn Miller; Amanda Barratt; Erica Vetsch
Call Number: ANT JOY WOR M

ISBN: 9780825446696

Publication Date: 2020-10-13

Three popular authors come together to offer a heartwarming collection of holiday Regency romance. Based on lines from a beloved Christmas carol, these three novellas in one book have depth, faith, and satisfying stories all packed into the perfect length for readers to curl up and take a brief break from their holiday busyness. "Heaven and Nature Sing" by Carolyn Miller: Two music lovers, deeply devoted to each other, were on the brink of engagement when family circumstances drove them apart. How can they ever overcome their obligations and fears to find their way back into each other's arms? "Far as the Curse is Found" by Amanda Barratt: One winter night, a woman struggling to provide for her illegitimate child encounters a scarred veteran of the Napoleonic Wars on the streets of London. Can love conquer the darkness of two broken pasts? "The Wonders of His Love" by Erica Vetsch: A Scots portrait painter with a hidden identity finds work at a noble manor house over the holidays. He never imagined he'd fall in love with the emotionally frozen widow there. Now he wants nothing more than to thaw her heart.

WINNER: "A Texas Christmas Carol" (in Under the Texas Mistletoe) by Karen Witemeyer

Under the Texas Mistletoe : a trio of Christmas historical romance novellas by Karen Witemeyer
Call Number: FIC WITEM KAR UN

ISBN: 9780764239311

Publication Date: 2021-08-31

Spiced with Witemeyer's signature blend of humor, thrilling frontier action, and sweet romance, this charming holiday novella collection includes three novellas: An Archer Family Christmas, Gift of the Heart, and a brand-new story, A Texas Christmas Carol, along with a Christmas devotion; holiday recipes; and fun facts about 1890s Christmas celebrations.

"A Texas Christmas Carol" was the Christy Award Winner for Short Form in 2022.

FINALISTS:

Mr. Nicholas: a Magical Christmas Tale by Christopher de Vinck
False Pretense by Heather Day Gilbert

Mr. Nicholas : a magical Christmas tale by Christopher de Vinck
Call Number: FIC DEVIN CHR MR (Adult fiction)

ISBN: 9781640607354

Publication Date: 2021-09-28

Each town has its own secrets, and those secrets belong to each citizen in his or her own way. When it becomes known that Mr. Nicholas, the eccentric owner of the hardware store, is somehow involved with reindeer, toys, and children, the town becomes more and more suspicious that this man is more than just a clerk on Main Street. JB, a clever, open, ten-year-old boy with Down's syndrome, is able to figure out the secret from the first time Mr. Nicholas gives him a chocolate deer wrapped in gold foil. JB's father and mother, divorced and both cynical, follow the adventures of JB as he flies on the back of a reindeer, feeds Mister Rogers' fish, and defines what can be forgotten by those who are too busy to remember the magic of Christmas, cuckoo-clocks, and love.

_____

False Pretense (Murder in the mountains #4) by Heather Day Gilbert
Call Number: FIC GILBE HEAD M4 (Adult fiction)

ISBN: 9781735565163

Publication Date: 2022

Tess has her work cut out for her?from her day job at the police station to her nights on the campaign trail with her husband, she's stretched thin. Her two young children also keep her busy, but thankfully she has a supportive mother-in-law who lives just next door. When the legendary Mothman makes a terrifying appearance and a local librarian goes missing, Tess feels compelled to get involved, convinced something evil has been unleashed on her little town. Then another woman disappears---this one bearing an eerie resemblance to Tess---and the police receive a cryptic message hinting that a serial killer is on the prowl. After a nightmarish turn of events completely upends the Spencer family, Tess musters her courage to hunt for the monstrous murderer in the woods...even if she has to walk straight into the Mothman's lair to do it. False pretense brings a stunning and memorable conclusion to the award-winning Murder in the Mountains series.

WINNER

"Always a Lady" in A Return to Hawthorne House by Kristi Ann Hunter

A Return to Hawthorne House : a novella collection by Kristi Ann Hunter
Call Number: FIC HUNTE KRIA RE

ISBN: 9781959589013

Publication Date: 2022-11-03

ALWAYS A LADY: Even though her daughter is not cooperating, Caroline, Duchess of Riverton is determined to ensure every one of her children marries someone they love as much as she loved their late father. William, the widowed Earl of Blackstone, is delighted to have his days of escorting daughters approaching an end. The last thing he expects is to find himself drawn to a woman who is just starting such a journey. Are they each too set in their ways to grasp this chance to have a second love? A LADY OF ESTEEM: Miss Amelia Stalwood may live in her absent guardian's London townhouse but she knows far more about associating with servants than aristocrats. When she bumps into Anthony, reformed Marquis of Raebourne, it starts a string of events that change her life forever. As the two of them try to navigate London in ways they've never done before, will they be able to hold on to love? THE LADY'S MAID: When Lydia Smith began her career as a parlor maid, she knew love and marriage weren't likely in her future. Dreaming about the boy next door as she dusted seemed harmless until he started working as the new valet under the same roof. When Finch needs her help with a special project, will it give them a chance to defy expectations and find love or ruin their happiness forever?

FINALISTS

"Hopes and Fears" in O Little Town by Amanda Wen
Kiss Me on Christmas by Sara Monzon

WINNER

"Star of Wonder" (within We Three Kings) by Crystal Caudill

We Three Kings : a romance Christmas collection by Crystal Caudill; Cara C. Putman; Angela Ruth Strong
Call Number: ANT WETHR KIN C

ISBN: 9780825447914

Publication Date: 2023-10-01

"Star of Wonder" by Crystal Caudill--The Christmas-themed maiden voyage of his family's grand steamer ship was supposed to be Aldrich Weise's chance both to instill investor confidence and to romance Celestia Isaacs. Instead, he must foil a criminal and leave his lady love behind forever. "Beauty Bright" by Cara Putman--Lieutenant Charles Weise served as a Monuments Man after World War II and now works to restore stolen art to rightful owners. Captain Lillian Thorsen pairs up with him not only to return treasures but also to fix the war-torn lives around them. "Perfect Light" by Angela Ruth Strong--Essential oils mogul Brendon Wise is drawn to Lacey Foster, the event planner for his huge Christmas lights festival. But when he inadvertently makes a spectacle of her on television, Lacey wants nothing to do with him. Will a chance to give gifts to those in need at Christmas be the key to discovering common ground-and maybe love?

FINALISTS

"Beauty Bright" (within We Three Kings) by Cara Putman
"The Poppy" (within Dancing in the Rain) by Sara Davison
The Shifting Current by Dani Pettrey
You Make It Feel Like Christmas by Toni Shiloh

We Three Kings : a romance Christmas collection by Crystal Caudill; Cara C. Putman; Angela Ruth Strong
Call Number: ANT WETHR KIN C

ISBN: 9780825447914

Publication Date: 2023-10-01

"Star of Wonder" by Crystal Caudill--The Christmas-themed maiden voyage of his family's grand steamer ship was supposed to be Aldrich Weise's chance both to instill investor confidence and to romance Celestia Isaacs. Instead, he must foil a criminal and leave his lady love behind forever. "Beauty Bright" by Cara Putman--Lieutenant Charles Weise served as a Monuments Man after World War II and now works to restore stolen art to rightful owners. Captain Lillian Thorsen pairs up with him not only to return treasures but also to fix the war-torn lives around them. "Perfect Light" by Angela Ruth Strong--Essential oils mogul Brendon Wise is drawn to Lacey Foster, the event planner for his huge Christmas lights festival. But when he inadvertently makes a spectacle of her on television, Lacey wants nothing to do with him. Will a chance to give gifts to those in need at Christmas be the key to discovering common ground-and maybe love?

2017-2019

WINNER: Looking Into You by Chris Fabry

Looking into You [E-Book] by Chris Fabry
Call Number: FIC FABRY CHR LO Ebook (OverDrive)

ISBN: 9781496406828

Publication Date: 2017-01-01

Every day, Paige Redwine is haunted by a choice she made when she was only seventeen. Now, just past forty, still single, she lives a tidy, controlled life as a well-respected English professor at a college in Nashville. Nothing could prepare her for the day Treha Langsam—the daughter she secretly placed for adoption—walks into her classroom as a student, unknowingly confronting Paige with both her greatest longing and her greatest fear. As Treha sets aside the search for her birth mother to concentrate on her education, Paige summons the courage to reach out to her daughter, never dreaming her actions will transform them both as she faces a past she thought she’d laid to rest.

FINALISTS:

Mirror Image by Laura Scott
Restoring Christmas : a novella by Cynthia Ruchti

WINNER: 12 Days at Bleakly Manor by Michelle Griep

FINALISTS:

Guilt by Association by Heather Day Gilbert
Her Secret Daughter by Ruth Logan Herne

WINNER: Catching Christmas by Terri Blackstock

Catching Christmas [Large print] by Terri Blackstock
Call Number: FIC BLACK TER CA Large (Large Print Collection)

ISBN: 9781683249856

Publication Date: 2018-11-01

First-year law associate Sydney Batson needs to focus on her current court case. So when her grandmother gets ill, Sydney arranges for a cab to get her to the clinic.The last thing cab driver Finn Parrish wants is to be saddled with a wheelchair-bound old lady with dementia, but Miss Callie reminds him of his own mother and he can't say no when she keeps calling him for rides. Once a successful gourmet chef, Finn's biggest concern now is making his rent, but half the time Callie doesn't remember to pay him. Now she's leading him on wild goose chases to find a Christmas date for her granddaughter! Does Miss Callie have an ulterior motive, or is this just a mission driven by delusions?

FINALISTS:

A Shot at Love within The Christmas Heirloom by Sarah Loudin Thomas
Falling for Grace by Janet W. Ferguson
Legacy of Love within The Christmas Heirloom by Kristi Ann Hunter

Christy Awards

2020-2029

WINNER: A Christmas Haven by Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall

FINALISTS:

A Hood of Love by Tracie Peterson

Intrigue a la Mode by Regina Jennings

WINNER: "Joy to the World : Far as the Curse is Found" by Amanda Barratt

FINALISTS:

A Match Made at Christmas by Courtney Walsh

Joy to the World : Wonders of His Love by Erica Vetsch

WINNER: "A Texas Christmas Carol" (in Under the Texas Mistletoe) by Karen Witemeyer

FINALISTS:

Mr. Nicholas: a Magical Christmas Tale by Christopher de Vinck

False Pretense by Heather Day Gilbert

WINNER

"Always a Lady" in A Return to Hawthorne House by Kristi Ann Hunter

FINALISTS

"Hopes and Fears" in O Little Town by Amanda Wen

Kiss Me on Christmas by Sara Monzon

WINNER

"Star of Wonder" (within We Three Kings) by Crystal Caudill

FINALISTS

"Beauty Bright" (within We Three Kings) by Cara Putman

"The Poppy" (within Dancing in the Rain) by Sara Davison

The Shifting Current by Dani Pettrey

You Make It Feel Like Christmas by Toni Shiloh

2017-2019

WINNER: Looking Into You by Chris Fabry

FINALISTS:

Mirror Image by Laura Scott

Restoring Christmas : a novella by Cynthia Ruchti

WINNER: 12 Days at Bleakly Manor by Michelle Griep

FINALISTS:

Guilt by Association by Heather Day Gilbert

Her Secret Daughter by Ruth Logan Herne

WINNER: Catching Christmas by Terri Blackstock

FINALISTS:

A Shot at Love within The Christmas Heirloom by Sarah Loudin Thomas

Falling for Grace by Janet W. Ferguson

Legacy of Love within The Christmas Heirloom by Kristi Ann Hunter