Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reading/Language Arts Resources : All Ages
Videos / Live Streams
Jarrett J. Krosoczka - author & illustrator
Free webcasts by the author of graphic novels such as "Hey Kiddo".
Live stream events for kids, tweens, and teens by professional authors and illustrators represented by Stimola Literary Studio. Live read-alouds, craft activities, and drawing demonstrations between8:00 a.m. and 3:45 p.m.
Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems
You are invited into his studio every day for his LUNCH DOODLE. Learners worldwide can draw, doodle, and explore new ways of writing by visiting Mo's studio virtually once a day for the next few weeks. Grab some paper and pencils, pens, or crayons and join Mo to explore ways of writing and making together. New episodes will be posted each weekday at Noon (Central time) and then remain online to be streamed afterwards.
GoodNight with Dolly
Everyone’s favorite Book Lady is bringing children and families everywhere just what they need during a time of unrest. Goodnight with Dolly is a 10-week special series of weekly videos featuring Dolly Parton reading select Imagination Library books.
Goodnight with Dolly launches on April 2, with the hope that this gift will further inspire a love of books and shared storytime during this important period. The weekly read-aloud series features several of the Imagination Library’s wonderful books including “The Little Engine That Could.” Watty Piper’s classic tale of a determined little engine has been an inspiration to generations. This year marks the 90th Anniversary of “The Little Engine That Could.” For many years the story has been a source of inspiration for Dolly and it is the welcome book that all newly registered children in the United States and Canada receive when they sign up for Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library.
Dolly hopes this series of stories will provide comfort and reassurance to kids and families during the shelter-in-place mandates.
OverDrive is a free service offered by Unger Memorial Library that lets you borrow digital content (like ebooks and audiobooks) anytime, anywhere.
"AudioBookCloud is a curated database of streaming audio books. The growing collection features over 1200 titles, including dozens of genres and interest levels. The collection includes popular literature, classics, children’s and teen books, mystery, sci-fi, history, biography, and more! The audio books are always available to subscribing libraries and their patrons. There are no special programs to install, or files to download. The site’s also completely mobile compatible, and the audio books can be streamed directly to whichever device you wish to use."
Junior Library Guild (JLG) Digital
JLG Digital gives you and your readers unlimited access* to read books online from any device. There is no limit to the number of users who can access the books, so tell your home-bound students to click to their hearts' content! Titles enter and exit the digital stream regularly, so there are always new picks available.
Scroll down to the buttons for your child's reading level. There is Elementary Stream (K-5), MIddle School Stream (6-8), and High School Stream (9-12).
National Emergency Library (created by the Internet Archive)
Readers, rejoice! Over 1.4 million books have been made available in the brand new National Emergency Library created by the Internet Archive, a non-profit digital library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more. The archive is suspending waitlists through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.
You will need to sign up for an account, but it is free to do so at this time.
Funbrain : Games, Videos, and Books for Kids
Online educatoinal games for kids of all ages (math, grammar, science, spelling, history)
Created by experts, Khan Academy's library of trusted, standards-aligned practice and lessons covers math K-12 through early college as well as grammar, science, history, AP, SAT, and more Free for learners and teachers. Join free by clicking on the appropriate link at the bottom of the home page.
Penguin Random House Open License Online Story Time and Classroom Read-Aloud Videos and Live Events
In order to encourage reading and classroom read-aloud experiences, and to support schools and public libraries forced to close by the escalating COVID-19 outbreak, Penguin Random House is permitting teachers, librarians and booksellers to create and share story time and read-aloud videos and live events.
Curious City Children's Book Engagement Tools
Explore Curious City's free home learning and play kits. You can browse for grades 00-02, 03-06, 06-09, and 10-12. Or you can browse by picture books, chapter books, middle grade & young adult books, nonfiction books and books on diversity.