Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

The awards were founded in 1969 in order to promote minority writers, with the first author awarded the prize in 1970. Awards for illustrators were added in 1974.

Coretta Scott King Awards - John Steptoe Award for New Talent

Winner:  Jerome Lagarrigue, illustrator of Freedom Summer, written by Deborah Wiles (Atheneum)


  • Barbara Hathaway, author of MIssy Violet and Me (Houghton Mifflin)

  • Frank Morrison, illustrator of Jazzy Miz Mozetta, written by Brenda C. Roberts (Farrar Straus Giroux)

Winner:  Shadra Strickland, illustrator of Bird, written by Zetta Elliott (Lee & Low Books)

Winner: Kekla Magoon, author of The Rock and the River (Aladdin, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division)

Winner:  Theodore Taylor III, illustrator of When the Beat Was Born : DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop (Roaring Brook Press)


  • Ronald L. Smith, author of Hoodoo (Clarion Books)

  • Ekua Holmes, illustrator of Voice of Freedom : Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement (Candlewick Press)

Winner:  Nicola Yoon, author of The Sun Is Also a Star (Delacorte Press)


  • Oge Mora, illustrator of Thank You, Omu

  • Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Monday's Not Coming


  • April Harrison, illustrator of What Is Given from the Heart

  • Alicia D. Williams, author of Genesis Begins Again


Legendborn by Tracy Deonn

WINNER-Author Award

Me (Moth) by Amber McBride

WINNER-Illustrator Award

The Me I Choose to Be, illustrated by Regis and Kahran Bethencourt, written by Natasha Anastasia Tarpley