Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Margaret A. Edwards Award: 1980s

Award to author and specific body of his/her work "for significant and lasting contributions to young adult literature."



Winner:  S. E. Hinton for The Outsiders, Rumble Fish, Tex, and That Was Then, This Is Now.

The Outsiders

Rumble Fish


That Was Then, This Is Now