Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World Fantasy Awards

Set of awards given each year for the best fantasy fiction published during the previous calendar year. Overseen by the World Fantasy Convention they were first given in 1975, with several additional categories added over the years.

World Fantasy

Awards

Best Collection  (1975-present)

1975-1979

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  Worse Things Waiting by Many Lade Wellman

SHORTLIST:  From Evil's Pillow by Basil Copper

WINNER:  The Enquiries of Doctor Eszterhazy by Avram Davidson

SHORTLIST:

  • Deathbird Stories by Harlan Ellison

  • The Early Long by Frank Belknap Long

  • Far Lands, Other Days by E. Hoffman Price

WINNER:  Frights by Kirby McCauley (editor)

SHORTLIST:

  • Cinnabar by Edward Bryant

  • Flashing Swords! 3 : Warriors and Wizards by Lin Carter (editor)

  • The Height of the Scream by Ramsey Campbell

  • Long After Midnight by Ray Bradbury

  • Superhorror by Ramsey Campbell (editor)

WINNER:  Murgunstrumm and Others by Hugh B. Cave

SHORTLIST:

  • Cold Chills by Robert Bloch

  • Swords and Ice Magic by Fritz Leiber

  • Whispers by Stuart David Sciff (editor)

  • The Year's Best Horror Stories V by Gerald W. Page (editor)

WINNER:  Shadows by Charles L. Grant

SHORTLIST:

  • Heroes and Horrors by Fritz Leiber

  • Night Shift by Stephen King

  • Night Winds by Karl Edward Wagner

  • The Redward Edward Papers by Avram Davidson

  • The Year's Best Horror Stories VI by Gerald W. Page (editor)

1980-1989

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  Amazons! by Jessica Amanada Alsmonson (editor)

SHORTLIST:

  • Nightmares by Charles L. Grant (editor)

  • Shadows 2 by Charles L. Grant (editor)

  • Thieves' World by Robert Asprin (editor)

  • Whispers II by Stuart David Schiff (editor)

  • The Year's Finest Fantasy, Volume 2 by Terry Carr (editor)

WINNER:  Dark Forces by Kirby McCauley (editor)

SHORTLIST:

  • Dragons of Light by Orson Scott Card

  • Mummy! : A Chrstomathy of Cryptology by Bill Pronzini (editor)

  • New Terrors by Ramsey Campbell (editor)

  • Shadows 3 by Charles L. Grant (editor)

  • Shatterday by Harlan Ellison

WINNER:  Elsewhere by Terri Windling and Mark Alan (editors)

SHORTLIST:

  • Fantasy Annual IV by Terry Carr (editor)

  • Shadows 4 by Charles L. Grant (editor)

  • Tales from the Nightside by Charles L. Grant

  • Whispers III by Stuart David Schiff (editor)

WINNER:  Nightmare Seasons by Charles L. Grant (editor)

SHORTLIST:

  • The Dark Country by Dennis Etchison

  • Different Seasons by Stephen King

  • Hecate's Cauldron by Susan Shwartz (editor)

  • Perpetual Light by Alan Ryan (editor)

  • Shadows 5 by Charles L. Grant (editor)

WINNER:  High Spirits by Robertson Davies

SHORTLIST:

  • The Dodd, Mead Gallery of Horror by Charles L. Grant (editor)

  • Red as Blood, or Tales from the Sisters Grimmer by Tanith Lee

  • Shadows 6 by Charles L. Grant (editor)

  • Tales of Wonder by Jane Yolen

WINNER:  Books of Blood, Vols. I-III by Clive Barker

SHORTLIST:

  • The Fire When It Comes by Parke Godwin

  • Masques by J. N. WIlliamson (editor)

  • Night Visions 1 by Alan Ryan (editor)

  • The Songbirds of Pain by Garry Kilworth

  • Viriconium Nights by M. John Harrison

WINNER:  Imaginary Lands by Robin McKinley (editor)

SHORTLIST:

  • Black Venus by Angela Carter

  • Books of Blood, Vols. IV-VI by Clive Barker

  • Dragonfield and Other Stories by Jane Yolen

  • Faery! by Terri WIndling (editor)

  • Night Visions 2 by Charles L. Grant (editorO

  • Skeleton Crew by Stephen King

  • Whispers V by Stuart David Schiff (editor)

WINNER:  Tales of the Quintana Roo by James Tiptree, Jr.

SHORTLIST:

  • Black Wine by Douglas E. Winter (editor)

  • Cutting Edge by Dennis Etchison (editor)

  • Dreams of Dark and Light by Tanith Lee

  • Liavek : the Players of Luck by Emma Bull and Will Shetterly (editorsO

  • Merlin's Booke by Jane Yolen

  • Night Visions 3 by George R. R. Martin (editor)

WINNER:  The Jaguar Hunter by Lucius Shepard

SHORTLIST:

  • Night's Sorceries by Tanith Lee

  • Polyphemus by Michael Shea

  • Scared Stiff : Tales of Sex and Death by Ramsey Campbell

  • Why Not You and I? by Karl Edward Wagner

WINNERS (Tie):

  • Angry Candy by Harlan Ellison

  • Storeys from the Old Hotel by Gene Wolfe

SHORTLIST:

  • The Blood Kiss by Dennis Etchison

  • Cabal by Clive Barker

  • Charles Beaumont : Selected Stories by Charles Beaumont

  • The Knight and Knave of Swords by Fritz Leiber

1990-1999

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  Richard Matheson : Collected Stories by Richard Matheson

SHORTLIST:

  • Blue World and Other Stories by Robert R. McCammon

  • By Bizarre Hands by Joe R. Lansdale

  • Harlan Ellison's Watching by Harlan Ellison

  • Novelty by John Crowley

WINNER:  The Start of the End of It All and Other Stories by Carol Emshwiller

SHORTLIST:

  • The Brains of Rats by Michael Blumlein

  • Houses Without Doors by Peter Straub

  • The Leiber Chronicles by Fritz Leiber

  • Prayers to Broken Stones by Dan Simmons

WINNER:  The Ends of the Earth by Lucius Shepard

SHORTLIST:

  • The Bone Forest by Robert Holdstock

  • Grimscribe : His Lives and Works by Thomas Ligotti

  • Lafferty in Orbit by R. A. Lafferty

  • More Shapes Than One by Fred Chappell

  • Night of the Cooters : More Neat Stories by Howard Waldrop

2000-2009

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

2010-2019

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  The Tangled Lands by Paolo Bacigalupi and Tobias S. Buckkell

SHORTLIST:

  • An Agent of Utopia by Andy Duncan

  • How Long 'til Black Future Month? by N. K. Jemisin

  • Phantom Limbs by Margo Lanagan

  • Still so Strange by Amanda Downum

2020-2029

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.