Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World Fantasy Awards

Set of awards given each year for the best fantasy fiction published during the previous calendar year. Overseen by the World Fantasy Convention they were first given in 1975, with several additional categories added over the years.

World Fantasy

Awards

Best Novel  (1975-present)

1975-1979

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  The Forgotten Beasts of Eld by Patricia A. McKillip

SHORTLIST

  • Merlin's Ring by H. Warner Munn

  • A Midsummer Tempest by Poul Anderson

WINNER: Bid Time Return  (aka: Somewhere in Time) by Richard Matheson

SHORTLIST

  • Salem's Lot by Stephen King

WINNER:  Doctor Rat by William Kotzwinkle

SHORTLIST

  • The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights by John Steinbeck

  • Dark Crusade by Karl Edward Wagner

  • The Doll Who Ate His Mother by Ramsey Campbell

  • The Dragon and the George by Gordon R. Dickson

  • The Sailor on the Seas of Fate by Michael Moorcock

WINNER:  Out Lady of Darkness by Fritz Leiber

SHORTLIST

  • The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever by Stephen R. Donaldson

  • The Hour of the Oxrun Dead by Charles L. Grant

WINNER:  Gloriana by Michael Moorcock

SHORTLIST

  • The Black Castle by Les Daniels

  • Night's Master by Tanith Lee

  • The Sound of Midnight by Charles L. Grant

  • The Stand by Stephen King

1980-1989

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  Watchtower by Elizabeth A. Lynn

SHORTLIST

  • The Dancers of Arun by Elizabeth A. Lynn

  • The Dark Bright Water by Patricia Wrightson

  • Harpist in the Wind by Patricia A. McKillip

  • The Last Call of Mourning by Charles L. Grant

  • The Palace by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

WINNER: The Shadow of the Torturer by Gene Wolfe

SHORTLIST

  • Ariosto by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

  • Firelord by Parke Godwin

  • The Mist by Stephen King

  • Shadowland by Peter Straub

WINNER:  Little, Big by John Crowley

SHORTLIST: 

  • The Claw of the Conciliator by Gene Wolf

  • The Nameless by Ramsey Campbell

  • The War Hound and the World's Pain by Michael Moorcock

  • The White Hotel by D. M. Thomas

WINNER:  Nifft the Lean by Michael Shea

SHORTLIST: 

  • Fevre Dream by George R. R. Martin

  • The Nestling by Charles L. Grant

  • Phantom by Thomas Tessier

  • The Sword of the Lictor by Gene Wolfe

 

WINNER:  The Dragon Waiting by John M. Ford

SHORTLIST

  • The Armageddon Rag by George R. R. Martin

  • Lyonesse by Jack Vance

  • Pet Sematary by Stephen King

  • Tea with the Black Dragon by R. A. MacAvoy

  • The Wandering Unicorn by Manuel Mujica Láinez

WINNERS  (Tie)

  • Bridge of Birds by Barry Hughart

  • Mythago Wood by Robert Holdstock

SHORTLIST:

  • Archer's Goon by Diana Wynne Jones

  • The Ceremonies by T. E. D. Klein

  • The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straube

WINNER:  Song of Kali by Dan Simmons

SHORTLIST:

  • The Damnation Game by Clive Barker

  • The Dream Years by Lisa Goldstein

  • Illywhacker by Peter Carey

  • The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice

  • Winterking by Paul Hazel

WINNER:  Perfume by Patrick Süskind

SHORTLIST:

  • It by Stephen King

  • The Pet by Charles L. Grant

  • Soldier of the Mist by Gene Wolfe

  • Strangers by Dean Koontz

  • Talking Man by Terry Bisson

  • The Tricksters by Margaret Mahy

WINNER:  Replay by Ken Grimwood

SHORTLIST:

  • Ægypt by John Crowley

  • Misery by Stephen King

  • On Stranger Tides by Tim Powers

  • Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card

  • Swan Song by Robert R. McCammon

  • Weaveworld by Clive Barker


 


WINNER:  Koko by Peter Straub

SHORTLIST: 

  • The Drive-In by Joe R. Lansdale

  • Fade by Robert Cormier

  • The Last Coin by James Blaylock

  • The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris

  • Sleeping in Flame by Jonathan Carroll

1990-1999

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  Madouc by Jack Vance

SHORTLIST:

  • Carrion Comfort by Dan Simmons

  • A Child Across the Sky by Jonathan Carroll

  • In a Dark Dream by Charles L. Grant

  • Soldier of Arete by Gene Wolfe

  • The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers

WINNERS (Tie):

  • Only Begotten Daughter by James K. Morrow

  • Thomas the Rhymer by Ellen Kushner

SHORTLIST:

  • Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

  • Mary Reilly by Valerie Martin

  • Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay


WINNER:  Boy's Life by Robert R. McCammon

SHORTLIST:

  • Bone Dance by Emma Bull

  • Hunting the Ghost Dancer by A. A. Attanasio

  • The Little Country by Charles de Lint

  • Outside the Dog Museum by Jonathan Carroll

  • The Paper Grail by James Blaylock

WINNER:  Last Call by Tim Powers

SHORTLIST:

  • Anno Dracula by Kim Newman

  • Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

  • Photographing Fairies by Steve Szilagyi

  • Was by Geoff Ryman

WINNER:  Glimpses by Lewis Shiner

SHORTLIST:

  • Drawing Blood by Poppy Z. Brite

  • The Innkeeper's Song by Peter S. Beagle

  • The Iron Dragon's Daughter by Michael Swanwick

  • Lord of the Two Lands by Judith Tarr

  • Skin by Kathe Koja

  • The Throat by Peter Straub

WINNER:   Towing Jehovah by James K. Morrow

SHORTLIST:

  • Brittle Innings by Michael Bishop

  • The Circus of the Earth and the Air by Brooke Stevens

  • From the Teeth of Angels by Jonathan Carroll

  • Love & Sleep by John Crowley

  • Waking the Moon by Elizabeth Hand

WINNER:  The Prestige by Christopher Priest

SHORTLIST:

  • All the Bells on Earth by James Blaylock

  • Expiration Date by Tim Powers

  • Red Earth and Pouring Rain by Vikram Chandra

  • Requiem by Graham Joyce

  • The Silent Strength of Stones by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

WINNER:  Godmother Night by Rachel Pollack

SHORTLIST:

  • The 37th Mandala by Marc Laidlaw

  • The Bear Went Over the Mountain by William Kotzwinkle

  • Devil's Tower by Mark Sumner

  • A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

  • The Golden Key by Melanie Rawn, Jennifer Roberson, and Kate Elliott

  • Shadow of Ashland by Terence M. Green


WINNER:  The Physiognomy by Jeffrey Ford

SHORTLIST:

  • American Goliath by Harvey Jacobs

  • Dry Water by Eric Nylund

  • The Gift by Patrick O'Leary

  • Trader by Charles de Lint

WINNER:  The Antelope Wife by Louise Erdrich

SHORTLIST:

  • The Martyring by Thomas Sullivan

  • Mockingbird by Sean Stewart

  • Sailing to Sarantium by Guy Gavriel Kay

  • Someplace to Be Flying by Charles de Lint

2000-2009

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  Thraxas by Martin Scott

SHORTLIST:

  • Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

  • The Rainy Season by James Blaylock

  • A Red Heart of Memories by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

  • Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle

  • A Witness to Life by Terence M. Green

WINNER(TIE):

  • Declare by Tim Powers

  • Galveston by Searn Stewart

SHORTLIST:

  • The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

  • The Grand Ellipse by Paula Volsky

  • Lord of Emperors by Guy Gavriel Kay

  • Perdido Street Station by China Miéville

WINNER:  The Other Wind by Ursula K. LeGuin

SHORTLIST:

  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman

  • Brown Harvest by Jay Russell

  • The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold

  • From the Dust Returned by Ray Bradbury

  • The Onion Girl by Charles de Lint

  • The Wooden Sea by Jonathan Carroll


WINNERS (Tie): 

  • The Facts of Life by Joyce Graham

  • Ombria in Shadow by Patricia A. McKillip

SHORTLIST:

  • Fitcher's Brides by Gregory Frost

  • The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque by Jeffrey Ford

  • The Scar by China Miéville

WINNER:  Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton

SHORTLIST:

  • The Etched City by K. J. Bishop

  • Fudoki by Kij Johnson

  • The Light Ages by Ian R. MacLeod

  • Veniss Underground by Jeff VanderMeer

WINNER:  Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

SHORTLIST:

  • Iron Council by China Miéville

  • Perfect Circle by Sean Stewart

  • The Runes of the Earth by Stephen R. Donaldson

  • The Wizard Knight by Gene Wolfe

WINNER:  Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

SHORTLIST:

  • The Limits of Enchantment by Joyce Graham

  • Lunar Park by Bret Easton Ellis

  • Od Magic by Patricia A. McKillip

  • A Princess of Roumania by Paul Park

  • Vellum by Hal Duncan

WINNER:  Soldier of Sidon by Gene Wolfe

SHORTLIST:

  • The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

  • Lisey's Story by Stephen King

  • In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente

  • The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner

WINNER:  Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay

SHORTLIST:

  • Fangland by John Marks

  • The Gospel of the Knife by Will Shetterly

  • The Servants by Michael Marshall Smith

  • Territory by Emma Bull

WINNERS  (Tie): 

  • The Shadow Year by Jeffrey Ford

  • Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

SHORTLIST:

  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

  • The House of the Stage by Kage Baker

  • Pandemonium by Daryl Gregory

2010-2019

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

WINNER:  The City & the City by China Miéville

SHORTLIST:

  • Blood of Ambrose by James Enge

  • Finch by Jeff VanderMeer

  • In Great Waters by Kit Whitfield

  • The Red Tree by Caitlín R. Kiernan

WINNER:  Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

SHORTLIST:

  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin

  • Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord

  • The Silent Land by Graham Joyce

  • Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay

  • Zoo City by Lauren Beukes



WINNER:  Osama by Lavie Tidhar

SHORTLIST:

  • 11/22/63 by Stephen King

  • Among Others by Jo Walton

  • A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin

  • Those Across the River by Christopher Buehlman




WINNER:  Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson

SHORTLIST:

  • The Killing Moon by N. K. Jeminsin

  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce

  • The Drowning Girl by Caitlín R.Kiernan

  • Crandolin by Anna Tambour

WINNER:  A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar

SHORTLIST:

  • Dust Devil on a Quiet Street by Richard Bowes

  • A Natural History of Dragons : a Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

  • The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

  • The Land Across by Gene Wolfe


WINNER:  The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

SHORTLIST:

  • Area X : the Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer

  • City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

  • The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

  • My Real Children by Jo Walton

WINNER:  The Chimes by Anna Smaill

SHORTLIST:

  • The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin

  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik

  • Savages by K. J. Parker

  • The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

  • A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay



WINNER:  The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

SHORTLIST:

  • Borderline by Mishell Baker

  • Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff

  • The Obelisk Gate by N. K. Jemisin

  • Roadsouls by Betsy James

WINNERS (Tie):

  • The Changeling by Victor LaValle

  • Jade City by Fonda Lee

SHORTLIST:

  • The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty

  • Ka : Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr by John Crowley

  • Spoonbenders by Daryl Gregory

  • The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter by Theodora Goss



WINNER:  Witchmark by C. L. Polk

SHORTLIST:

  • In the Night Wood by Dale Bailey

  • The Mere Wife by Maria Dahvana Headley

  • The Poppy War by R. F. Kuang

  • Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse


2020-2029

All winners and shortlisted titles are listed.  If the library owns the title the information will be highlighted in blue - if they are on order they will be orange.  Owned titles will also be shown as book covers and bibliographic information.

Winner:  Queen of the Conquered by Kacen Callender

 

SHORTLIST:

  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

  • The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

  • Gideon on the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

  • The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa ; translated by Stephen Snyder




Winner has not yet been announced

Shortlist

  • Piranesi by Susanna Clarke
  • Trouble the Saints by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones
  • Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moren-Garcia
  • The Midnight Bargain by C. L. Polk